On Being Overwhelmed

I am waist-deep in the first week of classes, and my mind is a-whir with activity. With so much to read and write for my overloaded schedule, days seem to last weeks. I enjoy it, honestly. Being busy has always been good for me, but that doesn’t mean it’s always easy.

Over-stimulation, a common problem in introverts and especially prevalent in myself, can occur even when alone in a room. When you aren’t reading for pleasure or browsing half-mindlessly, words can become loud in your head, echoing, hard to understand.

I have a few tricks and tips to overcome isolated overwhelmedness, most of which seem rather obvious in retrospect. I do chores while listening to a podcast. I cook myself a little meal. I take breaks to browse YouTube, I take a nap, I play cards with a roommate. It is amazing how much more I can get done when I’m not going in one big push. Little nudges work much better.

I’m majoring in a degree that focuses on writing, literature, and publishing, as well as a minor in journalism. The reading amount is astounding. I’m pushing through, though, with a little help from this past long weekend. Maybe some yoga soon. Maybe some tea.

Comments?

