The Concept of Concerts

Check out this picture!

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 9.32.57 AM

I went to an Ed Sheeran concert last night. All the fuzzy white specks are from people shining their smartphone flashlights, like how people used to do with lighters.

Whenever these lights came on, I found myself looking more at the lights than at Ed himself. They were beautiful, like a colony of fireflies, like a swirling, breathing galaxy.

As you can probably tell from the picture, I was up in the cheap seats, and the stage was pretty far away. There was a pretty bad echo, Ed Sheeran looked like a grain of rice and, thanks to Gillette Stadium’s awesome design, it was cold and windy. Don’t worry though, it was still a lot of fun:)

Anyway, from my vantage point up in the sky, I saw the big picture. Ed Sheeran, this tiny little grain of rice, was singing, with one guitar, to 53,000 people. One person, singing to 53,000, that’s insane. He kept mentioning how it’s the largest show he’s played in the states, and the opening acts seemed surprised at the grandeur as well.

That got me thinking. There were probably thousands of concerts going on last night. Attended by millions of people. All singing and jumping and shining their phones.

What a beautiful thing to share music with other people. To hear strangers sing the songs you know by heart with the person who wrote the words to begin with.

I so rarely feel connected to my planet. I always feel like there is the worldwide community of other people, and then there’s me, in my me-shaped space in the universe. This concert was the latest in a long string of reminders that I am not alone. I am in a sea of people who feel things I feel, who love things I love, who want to recreate the concerts of their parents and make the stadium glow like the sky it’s under.

If you’ve been reading my blog for the past week or so you’ll know I’ve been feeling pretty terrible lately. This concert really helped me out. I’m not a huge fan of Ed Sheeran–my sister had an extra ticket and, hey, it was only $20–but something about his one guitar, his honest amazement at the size of the stadium, and being surrounded by other, honest-to-God humans made me feel more connected to life than I have in a long while.

Maybe it just goes to show that being surrounded by people isn’t always a bad thing.

Comments?

