>70

Well, finally, there’s less than 70 days left until my boyfriend comes home from Mexico. I count the days in every way possible, fitting them into weeks, months, hours, sets of ten, sets of 12…Just trying desperately to put them in a form that makes it seem shorter. Today my focus is on dividing it into an improper fraction of months and days—two months and nine days. I can do nine days, and after nine days I’ll only have 2 months to go, and the day after that I’ll only have 1 month, 3 weeks, and 6 days.

January was hard, because I looked at the calendar and saw April 16 four months away. It gets closer every day, but the days pass so slowly. My semester will be two weeks away from being over. I’ll have been at the Globe for four months. My godson will be five months old. Lent and Easter will have come and passed. I’ll have my birthday. So much will happen in the next two months and nine days. But I don’t care. I would rather skip them all and go right to April 16.

My suitemate said he doesn’t like rushing through things, and I don’t either, really. But when the day to day is rather plain, and all I want to do is be with my boyfriend, I can’t help but wish I had that remote from Click. Fast forward, 2x.

I feel like I have things to do, but I don’t. The two-classes life, along with an 8 hr work day with less than 8 hrs of work leaves me with plenty of free time to count calendar days. It starts to look like a map. A quest, from February to April.

I know I shouldn’t dwell on it…but that’s hard to do. After all, I’m not the one trekking the rainforests of Oaxaca, I’m sitting in a cubicle all day.

We go to different colleges, so yes, we’ve been in a long distance relationship, so to speak, for awhile. It’s just that this distance is much greater, and there aren’t any visits in between. In many ways, it’s better, because he’s much happier there than in Vermont, and we do talk a bit every day. And it’s making us a stronger couple.

I’m asking my parents to send me abroad in the fall, but these hard months are one reason why, if they say no, it won’t be the end of the world…too much.

Comments?

