Ex-

What to do with an ex? What to do with a crazy ex? What to do with an ex who never talks to you again? What to do with an ex who won’t leave you alone? Won’t make up their mind? Won’t move out? Won’t come back? Whom you hate? Whom you love?

What to do with an extroverted ex?

My ex invited me to a musical today. Free ticket, matinee. A show I’ve wanted to see for a long time. He and I are on good terms. We’ve hung out a few times.

I said no.

The thing with exes is that they make you forget. They mess with your past. They make you subconsciously sort through your memories and pluck out the ones that you think describes them best. They’re an exercise in mindfulness.

This particular ex is one I’ve tried to be friends with before. It always ended in me remembering why I broke up with him in the first place.

I’m an introvert…I’m sensitive. And he’s extremely extroverted and doesn’t understand where the line is. In fact, he’s one of the least sensitive people I know, in every way, shape, and form. And I don’t do well with that.

Not to mention the fact he hates my current boyfriend.

It’s good to see exes now and again, because they serve as markers to your personal growth. Wow, you think to yourself, I used to put up with that? I used to find that funny? I used to be okay with this? You feel better about your life choices after seeing the alternate path it could have taken.

I guess it could go really well and you could fall back in love. That situation has never happened to me before, but it happened to this ex, a few months ago. I politely listened to his terrible piano and he asked if I felt “something.” I said no, and reminded him that I was committed to my boyfriend. And he laughed.

Sometimes you might remember exes as being not so bad. You might wonder why you broke up or aren’t friends, and try to reestablish a relationship. Sometimes I’m sure this will work out, but be wary. People grow at different rates. Some people don’t grow at all.

To quote the criminally underrated 2007 Disney film Meet the Robinsons, “Keep Moving Forward.”

Comments?

