Cough Syrup

I’ve been really into the song Cough Syrup by Young the Giant recently. I’ve been listening to it nonstop and learning to play it on ukulele.

Whenever I start getting really into a song, it’s usually because of the lyrics matching some aspect of my life. I got really into love songs when I was trying to convince my boyfriend to go out with me, for example. So, why Cough Syrup now?

I don’t feel quite like Life’s too short to even care at all. But I do sometimes feel like there is some fortune that I should have found by now

Sometimes we feel like we work so hard, but go unrewarded. I certainly do a lot. I feel like there should have been a fortune found by now.

I think everyone raised on Disney and storybooks goes through this at a point. After all, it took me a long time before I realized that there is no “ending” to growing up. You don’t someday get a job and then live happily ever after from then on out–you just keep living. There is no “happy ending, everything stays the same now,” ever.

There also is no singular goal to life. Sometimes I think life would be easier if I were born Cinderella or Ariel or whomever–at least then I would have some sort of life goal. But life doesn’t have built in goals, you have to make your own, and solving problems you make up is more difficult than fighting a dragon placed in your path.

Because what if you choose the wrong goal? Or a goal too difficult to tackle?

So I run to the things that could restore me, restore life the way it should be.

I try to get into meditation, yoga, healthy eating, exercising…all the stuff they say makes you feel better, but the only thing that has had an improvement I can see is sleeping more, which is literally like, “if you spend less time awake, life is better.” Great.

So what do we do? What is the magic cough syrup that restores life to the way it should be?

Well, I’m still searching…and I think it’s different for everybody. It’s probably love. In the Disney movies it’s always love:) They have to have some truth to them, right?

It probably is love, now that I think about it. I wish they could bottle love up like a medicine.

A dark world aches for a splash of the sun…

One thought on “Cough Syrup

  1. I absolutely love this band, and this is by far one of my favorite songs! Really interesting look into how the lyrics speak to you personally. I think that is what makes music so special. Everyone can experience the same song and the same lyrics differently.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments?

