Workin’ for the Weekend

Is everything just a countdown? I have several going on right now–a countdown to my birthday, a countdown to my boyfriend coming home from Mexico, a countdown to school being out, a countdown to my internship being over, and a countdown to my Europe trip.

On a larger scale, even me waiting to graduate is a countdown.

It’s hard to take a step back and enjoy where I am when the future seems so much better. Also, I have always liked finishing things. It feels good to finish things and be done with them, even things I like. Maybe that’s because all of my activities as a kid culminated in recitals–you work hard all year for an exciting finale, and then there’s no more hard work for awhile.

That’s also how movies work, huh? And books, and etc. Characters work hard, then a big exciting finale, then it’s over.

When I was a kid I kind of thought that was what childhood was…working hard in school so adulthood was a prolonged graduation party. And that’s what some people believe about heaven–we suffer in this world to be happy in the next.

I know I should try to enjoy where I am more, but what can I say? The grass is actually greener in the future, and not just because spring is coming. Things will get progressively better as time goes on…things just suck right now.

Maybe that’s a good thing, though. Maybe my dream of being rewarded for hard work will come true. If I can just get through a few more weeks, I will get rewarded. Every few weeks or months, a good thing will definitely happen. I just have to deal with the day-to-day until it does.

Maybe that’s life.

3 thoughts on “Workin’ for the Weekend

  1. I agree with the previous comment that one should live in the moment, though I do feel the past is also with us – experiences, relationships, our inherited evolution as a partnership with nature … all reasons to be cheerful, to quote Ian Dury! Glad you are following my blog, will follow yours.

    Like

  2. Hey! I’ve just completed my Infinity Dreams Award post and I have nominated you for it! For more details see: https://observeandreview.wordpress.com/2016/03/12/the-infinity-dreams-award/ If you’ve done it, sorry. Enjoy and pass it on!

    Like

  3. This is certainly a post where one doesn’t want to say too much as a comment. I could say, “Oh, all your dreams will come true with hard work!” Or, I could say, “Then one day you’ll find, 10 years have got behind you. No one told you when to run. You missed the starting gun.”

    Life is a trip. While we get all caught up in work and getting to the next step in life, suddenly we look back and wonder where it all went. As we sat, watching all the countdown timers, each replaced by as others expired. Only to realize that life only exists in the moment. Life can’t exist tomorrow because tomorrow doesn’t exist. Life can’t exist in the past, because the past is just an echo, or shadow of reality. Life only exists, here in this moment. While taking this very breath, this is life.. All the rest is just an illusion.

    Like

Comments?

