Changing backward

I realized that I accidentally published U yesterday instead of today! Oh well. Today will just be a personal blog then, since I’m a day ahead of the alphabet.

I can’t believe we’re in the final stretch of April. I guess my timeline was so set on Colin returning and my internship not ending until June that I kind of forgot about class. It was easy to forget class, this year. It was such a minimal part of my life. I’m so glad I went through with the American Sign Language class, it was one of the most fun classes I’ve ever taken, and it makes me want to keep learning it someday. Maybe be an interpreter.

Once I finish an essay on McTeague (wonderful book, highly recommended), I’ll be done with this school year! It’s crazy how both long and short the school year was.

Now I will spend my time pretty casually, working the last nine weeks at the Globe, doing some freelance work on the side, and then spending the nights either riding my bike or learning German. Probably a mix of both.

And oh, faithful readers are probably wondering how my time with Colin went. Well, after three months apart I was a bit worried that we wouldn’t click back in place, but it really was as if he had never left.  Seeing him appear from the terminal, all smiles, made every sucky, lonely moment of the last three months worth it.

Before my next personal blog post I’ll have moved back home for the summer. Strange. It’s always weird moving back home. Much like the end of a period of separation in a long distance relationship, moving back home after months away is both disorienting and startlingly normal. I’m going to miss my friends here, but I’m sure I’ll fall right back into my old routines. After all, I miss my family too, and it will be great to have a break from classes.

I suppose changing backwards is easier than changing forwards. Well, like all things, it’s only temporary.

4 thoughts on “Changing backward

  1. Shonna Slayton

    I enjoyed taking a few American sign languages classes back in the day. I took the classes because at the time I knew (casually) a few deaf people, but they were far better at communicating with me than I was with them! Since I moved away I haven’t met any others so I fear what little I did learn is a bit rusty now. Hopefully you’ll find occasion to use your new skills.

    @ShonnaSlayton from
    Author Shonna Slayton: A to Z of the 1800s

    Like

  2. Guess you could have entitled the entry as Uh-oh! and you would have been ok, too! I like how you have such a positive spin on your life and all of the changes. Good luck and I will keep you in my prayers and thoughts as you transition back home!!

    Like

Comments?

