Top 5 places for a restless introvert to go alone

Just because we’re introverted doesn’t mean we don’t like doing things! Here is my list of the best fun things to do when you want to get out of the house but don’t necessarily want to talk to anyone.

  1. Shopping. For the ambitious introvert, shopping can be a lot of fun alone. I do my best shopping when I don’t have to worry about other people judging my purchases. Plus, you get to spend as much or as little time as you wish in each store. Shopping is low on the list because it often involves a stressful environment with a lot of people, and there’s a high chance of running into someone you know. However, more often than not it’s a fun break to do on your own.
  2. Nature. Grab your favorite copy of Walden and spend the day outdoors. It’s easy to feel comfortable in your favorite outdoors spot, whether that’s deep in the woods or your own backyard. Bring a snack, take your bike out. Your heart and your soul will thank you for it! Just remember to stay safe when alone in the wilderness; don’t try rock climbing by yourself, for example, and don’t get lost.
  3. The Movies. I know, it seems lame to go to the movies yourself…but think about it. What is social about going to the movies? If you’re going to sit in silence for two hours, might as well take away the social stress of being around people—and yes, there will be others in the theatre, but they’ll be quiet and ignorable. Plus, you get that whole popcorn to yourself.
  4. The Gym. Though not my personal preference, the gym can be a great way to get yourself active without being bothered. Plug in some headphones and enjoy some music all while getting that blood flowing. Many gyms also offer calm classes that involve little interaction, like yoga. The best part about the gym is that if you run into someone you know, there’s no obligation to talk to them. A quick smile and wave and you’re back in the zone.
  5. The Library. Many of you may be saying, duh. The library is practically introversion incarnate. Well, yes, it’s great to curl up in the comfy sofa and read a rented book, but libraries are so much more than that! They offer art and cooking classes, book clubs and author readings. They give discounted passes to local museums, they host farmers markets on the front lawn, they have cafes with rich coffee and scones. What’s not to love about a library? Whether you go with a book and a chair in mind or you go looking for inspiration for another activity, the library is the top hub for people who want to do things but would prefer to go alone. And the best part? Quiet is mandatory.
9 thoughts on “Top 5 places for a restless introvert to go alone

  1. The library is a great spot to go by yourself! I used to go quite frequently when I was a teen but haven’t been in quite some time. I do enjoy going to bookstores by myself. Some have comfy chairs you can sit on while you browse through books and I’ve never been faced with the discomfort of socializing with strangers while I was at the bookstore. 😊 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my responsibilities at work (I work for a local parenting magazine) is to approve public postings to the online calendar and put together a calendar of 60 events that month for the print issue. The library branches in this area always have so many things going on that I can never fit many of them into the print calendar, but the net result is that I do know about a lot of cool things, including farmers markets and free days at local museums. I would recommend parent mag calendars to anyone regardless of whether they have kids for that reason. If it’s a free museum day you might end up in a crowd, but barring social anxiety it’s kind of nice to blend in with the masses when you don’t really have to interact with anyone else in them.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Nice post. Could relate to most of them. I’ve even tried going to a restaurant and eating all by myself. For some reason, it did not feel awkward , lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I wish I could give you more likes for mentioning the library. I don’t go as often as I should, because really the libraries around here aren’t all that inviting, but they’re great places. I was so depressed several years ago when I was picking up my daughter on her college campus. I was early, and since she hadn’t arrived at our designated meeting spot, I decided to take a walk through the undergraduate library, which was nearby. Empty! Couldn’t believe that on a college campus, the library would ever be empty. That’s sure not how it was when I was in school, but I guess times change, and not always for the better.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. All my favourite me time things for sure! 🙂 (Ok I haven’t been to the library in years, but I loved it as a kid and teen)

    Liked by 2 people

Comments?

