Young intelligence

I am constantly amazed at what children can do. When I was a kid, I always got annoyed when people underestimated me, so I try not to act too surprised at children’s intelligence. Even so, it is certainly easy to assume they don’t know much.

Maybe it’s because sometimes kids do stupid stuff. When a two year old shoves a bean up his nose, it’s hard to remember that he’s pretty smart.

But then again, I do stupid stuff too. Maybe I don’t shove beans up my nose, but I still hit “reply all” or lose the phone that’s in my pocket or accidentally use body wash when I meant to use shampoo. I think that’s why it’s easy to forget that kids are smart: because I’ve lived way longer than they have and I’m still pretty stupid.

Kids are smart, though. I just learned of a boy scout troop consisting of 9 year olds that are building prosthetic hands for kids in Haiti. My five year old cousin is learning to code at preschool, and knows all the ins and outs of Minecraft. I mean, this is stuff that I’d have trouble doing!

Not to mention my two year old cousin who can navigate an iPad and even find his favorite songs, even though he can’t read.

A while ago, I did an article on babies learning sign language. They were hearing babies who were at the age where they wanted to communicate but didn’t yet have the vocal control to do so. They could learn to sign “milk” and “hungry” and “more” to their parents at 5 or 6 months old, far younger than they would be able to say the words aloud. This cut down on frustration and crying for everyone involved.

Kids are so smart. I’d love to have one of my own someday, to help them learn and grow. I have a feeling I’ll be doing far more learning than teaching.

7 thoughts on “Young intelligence

  1. I taught kindergarten in Thailand for six months and was always amazed at what my students knew. They didn’t speak English fluently–so I couldn’t have full conversations with them–and they were still learning to master Thai but gosh, the things the picked up on and understood were incredible. I love working with kids–I find they are more perceptive and understanding that most adults and they are so inquisitive and full of life. Plus, there’s so much less drama in kid-world…and when there is drama, it’s usually easily solvable. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When both my daughters were babies I taught them a few signs like “Eat,” “thirsty,” and “more,” but they both learned to speak clearly fairly quickly and the signing went straight out the window! 😂 Kids really are amazing! Sometimes I miss teaching at a daycare. Working with kids was always so rewarding. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also taught my son sign language very young, maybe five months. It turned out to be critical because he was speech delayed. I cant even imagine how horrible that experience would have been if he hadn’t had signs to communicate in.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We started our oldest on basic signs when he was a few months old. He had about a half dozen words by the time he was six months, and has maintained a large vocabulary since.

    We didn’t do much signing–only a couple of signs–with our youngest. Around a year old, he wasn’t saying much, so we started signing with him. Bam! He began signing and speaking (slowly) after a couple weeks of exposure.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments?

