A sisterhood of night and day

I have a sister…but I wish I had sisterhood.

My grandmother sometimes called my sister and me “night and day.” When I was young, I asked if I could be night.

I realize now—and then, too—that she just meant that we were total opposites. It’s still true. I went into the arts, she went into athletics. She’s a loud social butterfly, I’m…well, come now, I run a blog called Introvert Playground. In so few words, she prefers the beach and I prefer the mountains (so meta).

Some of the ways that we are different amazes me. She refuses to try most new food, hates going to the movies, and will only play a board game if its Pictionary, and even then only if her friends don’t see her. My friends and I have Catan tournaments, have heated discussions about Fight Club and cook for fun. Then again, I don’t particularly like photography or any of her bands or any of her television shows. One is not better than the other. We’re just so different.

How did this happen? Born nearly exactly three years apart, raised by the same parents in the same house in the same school system until high school (she went to a technical high school to study nursing). I will always believe that nature has the advantage over nurture.

It does sadden me that I don’t think we’ll ever be close, especially when I see how close some siblings are, like my parents and their siblings. I really think that we could be good friends, if it weren’t for the fact that I’m open minded and she refuses to be anything but my opposite.

Closed mindedness keeps us apart. She seemed to decide one morning years ago that she disliked me. I don’t understand why she is so stuck on hating me, but nothing I do can ever seem to change it. Just when she seems about to sway, the winds change and she becomes shockingly nasty to me. Nearly everything we argue about is rooted in her refusal to see things from my point of view.

Night and day was an interesting comparison, but I think we are closer to ice and fire. She burns merrily, crackling and bright. I enjoy her light, but when I get near her I suffer. She wears me out, and occasionally lashes and scorches me.

So I keep my distance from my little sister. I don’t want to, but I do. It breaks my heart, but distance hurts less than her pointed attacks.

Night and day were never meant to coexist anyway…but I hope one day we can compromise and meet at dawn.

One thought on “A sisterhood of night and day

  1. I come from a family of seven sisters. We were all close growing up but over the years I’ve drifted away from some of my sisters. I’m not really sure what happened. They just stopped talking to me. At some point, I took the hint and decided to keep my distance. I miss them but I’m not sure how to fix the bridge between us. I’m not even sure where it’s broken. Fortunately, I’m still very close to a few of them. I’ve decided to concentrate on those relationships. It must be difficult to have an only sister to whom you can’t communicate or be yourself. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments?

