Friends and heels

Last night I saw a friend I haven’t seen in nearly two years. It’s always strange when that happens…do you act like nothing has changed, or like you’re meeting them again for the first time?

I wouldn’t have been so nervous, I suppose, if he and I weren’t so close before. I know I’ve changed in the past two years…has he? Will we be too different to be friends?

When he came over, all my worries went away. God, he was so him. So normal. I caught myself watching his mannerisms throughout the night, the way he laughed. He had the same glasses. So normal, but so strange to see him again.

Nonetheless, distance was persistent in being the forefront of the evening. While he was talking about the college he goes to, he said, “And my girlfriend–I have a girlfriend named Sarah….”

How do you count friends? I would still count him as my friend, though we hadn’t spoken in so long and were so separate I didn’t know he had a girlfriend, never mind her name. He, who I used to know everything about.

How do you count friends, in a world that’s always changing, in a world that allows you to be virtually inseparable but physically worlds away?

I can only imagine what it will be like when we’re older and even further from our roots. When I see someone I used to be close with decades ago, will it be just as easy and strange? I’m terrible at recognizing faces and remembering names…then again, I can always look people up on Facebook if I forget them.

Social media is weird. Growing up is weird. Friendships are weird.

I wore heels to work today and I feel old.

3 thoughts on “Friends and heels

  1. I’ll use the word “friend” generically because it makes things easier, but in truth, I’m very stingy with it. For me, true friendship does not depend on time or proximity, it’s something you feel to the very roots of your being. By my definition, I have accumulated just four friends in nearly 60 years of life. The best advice I can give (if indeed you’d even want to accept advice from a man with only four friends) is to not confuse friendship with anything to do with social media.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. From the perspective of age I have friends who go back decades, who don’t change, who you drop back in with as if they had never been away. We seem to change but be on the same wavelength. Friends for life. Others drop by the wayside.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments?

