Pool

Last night was one of those nights that you know will become a good memory even while it’s happening.

We were playing pool. Two close friends and two I barely knew. We were singing Queen, we were eating chips and pizza. The whole room was fuzzy, hazy, warm.

It was late at night and dark, but I wasn’t feeling low energy yet. Though I had been “on” for so long, I didn’t want the night to end. That’s such a rarity for me.

Something about playing pool gives off vibes of sophistication and straight cool; perhaps it’s its iconic status in film, or the classic colors of the balls and table, or the distinctive sound of a solid shot rolling across the table. I didn’t even play–I’m terrible at pool–but its aura alone helped keep my energy up and flowing.

Why? Why doesn’t pool drain me like a party or normal times with people?

It came to me then. It’s like a board game.

It’s Connect Four or checkers, just on a bigger scale. It’s one on one, far more of a game than a sport. It’s a board game, which I love. The sort of thing that gives me energy, that doesn’t make me want to be alone.

Introverts, give pool a shot:)

4 thoughts on “Pool

  1. I’m an introvert and have never given pool a shot but maybe I’ve been missing out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love pool. I have an app on my iPad. It’s different from real pool. I kind of like the intimacy of watching your opponent plan a shot, while you’re doing the same. Have to get to a pool bar soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never played pool… But I do love board games! Maybe I should give it a try, next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love pool! It’s been so long since I’ve played.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments?

