To stand out or not to stand out

When I put together an outfit I never wear more than one “weird thing.” 

Meaning, if I’m wearing a yellow shirt I can’t do something new with my hair. If I wear a big necklace I can’t wear heels, and so on. Only one weird thing at a time.

I tell myself that I do this out of a sense of fashion. After all, don’t want to wear an outfit that is too loud. However, I’m beginning to think it’s because I don’t have enough self confidence to wear something that makes me stand out. 

Like how I wrote in my “fashion tips” posts, it works best for me if I wear something that can be both fashionable and not too bold, or something that can be changed from one to the other as need be. Perhaps it’s time I change that.

I painted my nails bubble gum pink today while waiting for a train. Will this make me more confident, or will I be removing it by sundown? Only time will tell. For now, I see it as a personal challenge. Let’s see how long I can stand it!

7 thoughts on “To stand out or not to stand out

  1. Sounds like a great challenge.

    You could keep adding an extra piece, one by one and see how you feel. I like the scarf idea especially since you can really play with it, and if it gets too much you can take it off and put it in your bag.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like to stand out and hide behind (standing out). I’ll wear one bold thing so that if anyone looks twice, I console myself that ‘that one bold thing’ is what is being stared at and not me. I hide behind makeup especially. But most of all I hide behind my earphones (listening to loud music). Love your bubble gum pink nails! (I never paint my nails though, terrible at maintaining nail color…tend to chip and leave me feeling very exposed! If I was great at nails…I’ll probably hide behind them as well)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am a fan of scarves year round! And I completely understand about the one item. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with a more Audrey Hepburn style, though. Good luck with the nail polish! I’ve only ever managed to do bold colors to my toes:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I also like to stay fairly neutral with one “fun” piece. I’m a big fan of scarves ten months out of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I once had a panic attack from painting my nails red to blue. As I only really paint my nails red- so the blue seemed so loud to me like a piercing fucking terrible noise, but to everyone else it seems okay and even normal. No one cared. I guess the question you have to ask yourself is, Do you want to change and be more bold? There is no shame in saying no, or saying yes to that question. Once you figure that out, act on it- no matter how bad the anxiety. IF you need anxiety tips or are interested you can always visit my blog. 🙂 Good luck on your nails. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments?

