First anniversary

So, turns out today marks my first year since I registered with WordPress. I got an achievement for it and everything.

This blog has changed a lot over the year. At first it was deep and depressing and then it was day to day and then it was A to Z and then it was a bunch of things and now it’s…whatever this is. I guess just whatever I’m feeling, approximately once a day.

Jeez, not the best blog theme, is it?

I’m sure I will start up Conversation Starters and Short Fic Friday and other stuff soon. I’m just in a weird place and not ready for that sort of thing yet. It’s been a time. Not necessarily a bad time or a good time, just a time. And that time has required a lot of energy.

Anyway, before the notification that I’ve spent a year here, I was going to write a post about happiness. I’m writing a novella around the theme of happiness. What makes us happy, how do you find happiness and keep it, etc. I am working on it because it’s a problem I’m working on in my personal life as well.

I find it frustrating that my happiness is dependent on my surroundings. I wish I had an inner peace that could just let the outer stuff go. I want to go to sleep generally happy no matter the circumstance. Maybe that’s a lot to ask, but I find myself overly emotional (both positive and negative emotions) over events, people, etc. in my life. Minor things can make or break a day for me. I wish I wasn’t like that.

How can I make my happiness independent from the situation that I’m in? Is that even possible? I guess I don’t mean happiness, just peacefulness. I want to be peaceful.

Of course, I’m about the worst candidate for “peaceful” ever. I bounce my knees and move my hands around constantly. I can’t stand silence, because I get tinnitus, and I don’t like darkness, because I get visual snow, which I just recently learned isn’t something everyone has. Meditation makes me jittery. I’m even stressed out in my sleep–I grind my teeth so hard I’ve broken four night guards.

I guess it’s a good goal to strive for, anyway.

This blog has always been tied someway or another to introversion, and this is no exception. Introverts spend a lot of time doing introspection, and maybe this is what this new leg of my journey is about. Introspection, concerning happiness and peacefulness and a general sense of love. Not a bad new year resolution.

6 thoughts on “First anniversary

  1. That is, in fact, a fabulous New Year’s resolution! It is an interesting topic, how to gain inner peace in the tumult of our daily lives. For most people I think it is a life’s work to try and find out – it certainly is for me. Interestingly, as a card-carrying introvert myself, the closest I feel to peace is when I am on my own, writing, or reading the inspiring work of others. I can be anyway, in any surroundings, (except my own house weirdly), and with headphones in (so no-one bothers me), I am the most at peace I can be. I can spend endless hours doing it. But, I suspect this pastime would make others jittery and want to pull their own hair out. I think it is different for everyone. Good luck with the year ahead and I hope your peaceful self emerges 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your anniversary 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats and looking forward to following another year of your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments?

